Looking for the original Bar Towel blog? You can find it at www.thebartowel.com.

We have a trivia question in order to register to prevent bots. If you have any issues with answering, contact us at cass@bartowel.com for help.

Introducing Light Mode! If you would like a Bar Towel social experience that isn't the traditional blue, you can now select Light Mode. Go to the User Control Panel and then Board Preferences, and select "Day Drinking" (Light Mode) from the My Board Style drop-down menu. You can always switch back to "Night Drinking" (Dark Mode). Enjoy!

Southern Tier Choklat

This forum is for discussing everything beer retail: LCBO, Beer Store, Grocery Stores and Indie Stores.

Moderators: Craig, Cass

Lukie

Southern Tier Choklat

Post by Lukie »

Just snatched two bottles from the St. Lawrence Market store. This is my first try. Good beer, probably my favorite stout although I'm not a big fan of stouts (so far I liked Sinha best). This one is not at all bitter like most stouts. It has a some substantial amount of sweetness that I haven't encountered in this style before, but the sweetness is not overwhelming and I wouldn't quite call it desert. Its certainly balanced out by some bitterness. However, this beer does satiate you pretty quickly and I couldn't imagine consuming more than one bottle. To me, this also tastes and smells like cream soda, which is odd but not unpleasant. Lastly, I don't quite get the price of this. It is a syrupy, rich , filling beer but is it worth spending $7 more per bottle than for a Sinha stout, lets say? I don't know. To me, $5 - $7 price range would have been more reasonable for this product. What do you think?

Ukie
Bar Fly

Post by Ukie »

I was trying to do a comparison between this and the Brooklyn Black Chocolate to compare value and came across this:

BROOKLYN BLACK CHOCOLATE STOUT
LCBO 95034 | 2130 mL bottle

Price: $ 2.55
Beer, Stout
10.0% Alcohol/Vol.

Sugar Content : 7