Looking for the original Bar Towel blog? You can find it at www.thebartowel.com.

We have a trivia question in order to register to prevent bots. If you have any issues with answering, contact us at cass@bartowel.com for help.

Introducing Light Mode! If you would like a Bar Towel social experience that isn't the traditional blue, you can now select Light Mode. Go to the User Control Panel and then Board Preferences, and select "Day Drinking" (Light Mode) from the My Board Style drop-down menu. You can always switch back to "Night Drinking" (Dark Mode). Enjoy!

Rodenbach Grand Cru

Contribute your own beer reviews and ratings of beers that are made or available in Ontario.

Moderators: Craig, Cass

tupalev
Seasoned Drinker

Rodenbach Grand Cru

Post by tupalev »

"Ummm, I've never done this before."

'Why don't you start with your name and tell us why you're here?"

"O...Ok. My name is Jeff"

(group) "Hello Jeff."

"I am here because, well, I'll just say it, I didn't like a beer the (beer geek) world seems to love - The Rodenbach Grand Cru.

(murmurs and odd gasps through the crowd)

(Jeff continues) "One day I'll tell my grand kids tales of how I anxiously waited for months for signs that the Grand Cru would surface. Rumours floated around about possible sightings in far away places like Woodstock and Ottawa. LCBO stores were called. Other beer lovers stole whatever cases they could find. And then, as if by fate, there it was, on the shelf of a tiny lcbo in the Ukranian Demonstration Village. I brought it home. I waited. I had visions of aging the extra bottle I received, but one was for a special almost end of the week Thursday night garabage reality tv night viewing, where I would let go of the cares of the week sipping on a legendary beer. It started off well enough, the colour was a fantastic ruby read and the sour aroma hit me before the cap was all the way off. This was going to be an intriguing beer."