Looking for the original Bar Towel blog? You can find it at www.thebartowel.com.

We have a trivia question in order to register to prevent bots. If you have any issues with answering, contact us at cass@bartowel.com for help.

Introducing Light Mode! If you would like a Bar Towel social experience that isn't the traditional blue, you can now select Light Mode. Go to the User Control Panel and then Board Preferences, and select "Day Drinking" (Light Mode) from the My Board Style drop-down menu. You can always switch back to "Night Drinking" (Dark Mode). Enjoy!

ORVAL - Then & Now

Contribute your own beer reviews and ratings of beers that are made or available in Ontario.

Moderators: Craig, Cass

Belgian
Bar Towel Legend

ORVAL - Then & Now

Post by Belgian »

Cracked open an 07/2004 and an 09/2008.

Like two different beers!

They say every batch or Orval is different, and Im no expert.

The July 2004 is noticeable more fruity and 'evolved' with balancing sweetness, and a very nice wine-like acidity over it, very solid and complex. It also looks a tone darker and has obviously dropped clearer in transparency.

The Sept 2008 is incredibly dry, verging on thin and almost unpleasantly bitter, with a huge amount of carbonation. I could be re-trying this 2008 closer to the end of the year VS the remaining bottle of 2004. The hop bitterness is gone postal and those sweet fruits (if they are lurking underneath) may need time to show.

What surprises me is I no longer find this beer 'medicinal' in the almost bandaid-like flavors. I recall very distinctly the first time I fully enjoyed an Orval (LOL) and it was a 1-or-2 year aged bottle... it just had so many layers. I got past all the funk, brett and other quirks of this singular Belgian that were once off-putting to my newbie palate.