Looking for the original Bar Towel blog? You can find it at www.thebartowel.com.

We have a trivia question in order to register to prevent bots. If you have any issues with answering, contact us at cass@bartowel.com for help.

Introducing Light Mode! If you would like a Bar Towel social experience that isn't the traditional blue, you can now select Light Mode. Go to the User Control Panel and then Board Preferences, and select "Day Drinking" (Light Mode) from the My Board Style drop-down menu. You can always switch back to "Night Drinking" (Dark Mode). Enjoy!

Stalled fermentation?

Post your own tasty recipes or homebrewing advice here.

Moderators: Craig, Cass

The_Jester
Bar Fly

Stalled fermentation?

Post by The_Jester »

Hopefully you kids can help me with this one.

I'm fairly new to homebrewing, and I'm still doing partial mash. My first few batches were okay, but my last three have all been problematic, in that the fermentation seems to be stalling.

For example, in my most recent batch, a stout, it went into the pail at 1.074 and a double dose of Wyeast Irish Ale propogator. It looked good for the first couple of days, all scummy and foamy and such, then stopped and fell clear (after about 5 days) at 1.036. It should have dropped 20 more points!?!

Temperature shouldn't be a problem, as it stayed between 18-22 degrees. The yeast must have been healthy, since it started okay.

I'm at a loss. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
"The time for delay is over, we need to address the threat of climate change activism immediately if we hope to protect the future prosperity of our children’s employers." Scott Vrooman

grub
Seasoned Drinker

Post by grub »

first question: what type of extract did you use? (ie: liquid vs dry, colour, etc). stopping high is not uncommon for extract, but even that seems a bit much. you'd likely get some kind of medal if you managed to get an extract batch down to 1.012, and something in the 1.020's is more realistic.