Looking for the original Bar Towel blog? You can find it at www.thebartowel.com.

We have a trivia question in order to register to prevent bots. If you have any issues with answering, contact us at cass@bartowel.com for help.

Introducing Light Mode! If you would like a Bar Towel social experience that isn't the traditional blue, you can now select Light Mode. Go to the User Control Panel and then Board Preferences, and select "Day Drinking" (Light Mode) from the My Board Style drop-down menu. You can always switch back to "Night Drinking" (Dark Mode). Enjoy!

Where's the smoke?

Discuss beer or anything else that comes to mind in here.

Moderators: Craig, Cass

sunnytoh

Where's the smoke?

Post by sunnytoh »

Ok, so I have been doing the backyard thing for a couple years now. I have started this year visiting all the BBQ joints I come across in my area. The main thing I have noticed is the lack of smoke in all the meats. I have talked to several of the owners of the joints and they assure me they do not wrap their meats. I believe they are telling me the truth. Most of the places I have visited have had a good bark on everything and even a smoke ring in the meat. I usually go for the pulled pork, brisket, and ribs. I just do not se how these place can have the ring and crust with no smoke flavor. I had some of the best brisket I have ever had yesterday. While talking to the owner of the place, he said they slow smoke it for 12-14 hours in hickory. It did have a mild smoke taste, but nothing like what I get when I smoke with only hickory (you know I smoked with hickory). Maybe I am missing something.... I do want to get my brisket down (very tender and juicy). Gonna keep working at it.

jcc

Post by jcc »